Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man pushed under Dublin Bus and decapitated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Son_of_Belial

LUPE is obviously taking the piss - bad form. I saw what happened - well not the actual accident right there but the general confusion and the screaming - one poor girl was in a right hysterical state. <snip>.

Wondering if it should have and if there's something fundamentally wrong with me as a result... That's my two cents anyway. Night...

Mod: Let's leave the gory details to the tabloids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Tmeos

I was there tonight, didn't see it happen but must have been minutes before because the guards weren't on the scene. I saw the bus stopped and thought it must be broken down so I walked around the back of it and nearly tripped over the poor guy. Ill never forget what I saw when I looked down. The picture of him is burned into my brain, I can't sleep because it keeps flashing infront of me. Horrible just so horrible

Tmeos wrote: »
    I was there tonight, didn't see it happen but must have been minutes before because the guards weren't on the scene. I saw the bus stopped and thought it must be broken down so I walked around the back of it and nearly tripped over the poor guy. Ill never forget what I saw when I looked down. The picture of him is burned into my brain, I can't sleep because it keeps flashing infront of me. Horrible just so horrible

I can't have been far from ya dude... You'll be grand... The way I see it - if it's now the worst thing I'll ever see in my life from this point on I'll take it just fine with no complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The Luas can't go down Dawson St soon enough. As it is, the Dawson/Nassau Junction is dangerous, congested by both pedestrians and cars and of course, buses.

I'm just glad there are not many HGVs on the quays or streets anymore, there were some horrific injuries and deaths at the hands of those vehicles.

This whole incident is made even worse by the malice of it all.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,448 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Shocking and utterly horrible. Can I suggest that the poster two posts up from me put a big spoiler on his description of the scene as it is deeply graphic and frankly disturbing.

RIP to the man who was killed. The bus driver abd witnesses must be very traumatised. That location is a very dangerous spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

There was a similar incident around the corner from my former work place a few years ago. We couldn't see what happened but heard the commotion. We thought it was an armed robbery and went around for a nose. We didn't see anything of the scene but there were police there who were very visably upset by what they had seen so I can only imagine for a member of the public the kind of trauma they must be dealing with tonight not to mention the poor bus driver.

My heart goes out to the family of the young lad, such terrible news and they won't be able to see him to say goodbye.

I can't even begin to understand what makes a person even think about taking a photo of such a scene, where is the respect and humanity.

I hear ya Don. Also, and forgive me for saying so, I mean it in the very best way, I know this man was a human being and I don't want people to think I'm comparing him to a dog or something but... Well... It was quick you know? He didn't suffer. If someone was to tell me and somehow know that I wouldn't die peacefully in my sleep and that it'd be in some sort of accident, I hope it's that quick and painless...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

The man was PUSHED from the path into the road.

The bus didnt mount the path..the man was pushed.

Buses and have been going around the road for years and no one has been killed from walking on the pathway.........even in heavy padestrian traffic.

Buses,trucks and general Traffic doesnt come into it here,with regards to what happened.

2 sick fcukers pushed the man put infront of the bus.

I hope they gets whats comming to them too.

I take it you're not referring to my own account?

Thinking of you guys who were there and saw it, hope you'll be okay x

eviltwin wrote: »
    I can only imagine for a member of the public the kind of trauma they must be dealing with tonight not to mention the poor bus driver.

Defo something wrong with me then lol cos other than a strange adrenaline rush I'm perfectly fine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Motivator

kowloon wrote: »
    You do hear about studies where the majority of people freeze up and do nothing.

This reminds me of that incident in China earlier in the year where people strolled past a dying child not wanting to get involved.

I really want to believe I'd react appropriately, but it's an unknown until something serious happens.

People purposely do this in China, a lot of the time people (generally children forced to do it) lay on the ground & pretend to be injured & when someone comes to their assistance its a scam of some kind. The "victim" then sues the person who came to their assistance. I'm not entirely sure of the ins & outs of it but I definitely remember hearing something about it around the time the CCTV footage came out.

Basically people in China don't get involved when there is someone in need of assistance due to the country's messed up legal system. I saw a video of 2 Chinese guys fighting on a train & one was literally biting the face off the other. He bit his nose & lips off as well as tearing chunks out of his cheeks. People stood, watched & videod instead of trying to help.

I take it you're not referring to my own account?

Indeed I am. I'm thankful not to have been at the scene myself - and sorry to hear that you were - but your very graphic description needs a spoiler because the mental image I formed afrer reading your post disturbed me.

LUPE is obviously taking the piss - bad form. I saw what happened - well not the actual accident right there but the general confusion and the screaming - one poor girl was in a right hysterical state. <snip> That's my two cents anyway. Night...

That's pretty much what I assumed from RTE saying that the body hadn't been removed several hours later, there was no need for the Independent to go any further.

I thought it was spoilered out? Do you not need to highlight the graphic part to read it?

Its showing a spoiler for me anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

eviltwin wrote: »
    Its showing a spoiler for me anyway

I think the poster was attacking the independent and not the post,and i agree that now when it's still a raw incident,a certain discretion should be taken during editing.

paddy147 wrote: »
    The man was PUSHED from the path into the road.

The bus didnt mount the path..the man was pushed.

Buses and have been going around the road for years and no one has been killed from walking on the pathway.........even in heavy padestrian traffic.

Buses,trucks and general Traffic doesnt come into it here,with regards to what happened.

2 sick fcukers pushed the man put infront of the bus.

I hope they gets whats comming to them too.
    With how packed the streets in that area are I'm surprised it hasn't happened accidentally recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭SpatialPlanning

I feel sick just thinking about this.

Imagine the Guards and Ambulance crew who are called out to cases like this regularly (albeit not as gruesome as this one). I don't know how they do it.

Three lines are spoilered out from my view but all of the text in your post in blue should be IMO. But then, I'm on boards from my iPhone so perhaps that's the issue?

I can't fathom what would motivate people to take pictures of such a gruesome scene. Sick!

Good, I did my best to both tell the story from my point of view and yet leave it so it's only readable by those who specifically want to read more. There will be deeply shocked people tonight who saw what I did and I feel for that honestly severely traumatised young girl I mentioned in my account. A hell of a thing in the worst possible place at the worst possible time of day and time of year. Leaves me contemplating just how fragile and precarious our existence is... Stay safe one and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Why is everyone jumping to unnecessary conclusions about murder/manslaughter? We don't know for sure what happened yet, possible the Gardai don't either until they've reviewed all the cctv footage.

Saw somewhere that they were having trouble identifying him, must not have been carrying any id.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Three lines are spoilered out from my view but all of the text in your post in blue should be IMO. But then, I'm on boards from my iPhone so perhaps that's the issue?

I can't fathom what would motivate people to take pictures of such a gruesome scene. Sick!

The human mind does wierd things to a person and their reactions and facination............in a morbid sickening way.

JupiterKid wrote: »

Yeah I saw a few phones out alright... I didn't hang around to be honest. Spoilers are obviously a bit browser dependent. Did my best. Night.

having trouble identifying him
    After what I saw that surprises me not at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Where exactly did this take place?! (which corner) Would have been there at that exact time if I had gone into college today :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭thomasj

Zyzz wrote: »
    Where exactly did this take place?! (which corner) Would have been there at that exact time if I had gone into college today :/

Its at the lights just across from the side entrance to trinity (nassau street entrance)

Nassau/Dawson. You know there by that "colonnade" thing there - basically right in front of TCD Nassau St. entrance where the buses come down Dawson and turn left. Just at the corner there. It was dark, raining... Bus driver wouldn't have had a clue until it was far too late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Emeraldy Pebbles

I would have been at the scene at about the time it happened if I wasn't delayed leaving work.

Coulda woulda shoulda. He could have been pushed a second later and missed the bus. What's the point to saying you could have been there?