Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

hugo29 wrote: »
    ah but you said gentleman, thats you out:D

Thats true, now where do i start!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

td5man wrote: »
    Thats true, now where do i start!

At the beginning is always good ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,584 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

At the beginning is always good ;)

Followed by a middle and an end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Any one have experience with a 07 zetor 9641 with loader?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,578 ✭✭✭✭Base price

mate drives an artic lowloader and was in some back arse place in Tipperary collecting a machine. Got directions to where he was to go and he was directed up a small windy road that he said was just wide enough for the truck. As he rounded a corner he met a funeral procession coming against him. :D:D, he said he backed up a bit to where there was a bit of a bank and drove the truck and trailer as far in of the road as possible. he said the hearse scraped by along with all the cars, with everyone staring him out of it. He had to be towed back down of the bank when funeral eventually pasted. I could stop laughing when he rang me with the story
    I was at a funeral of a young lad that died as a result of a car accident. The graveyard is a few miles from the church and on a narrow road. Cars were parked on one side of the road and there was enough room for a car to pass them but a truck came along just after the hearse got to the graveyard. The driver switched off his engine, got out of the lorry and stood beside it. After a bit a van pulled up behind the lorry and after a few minutes waiting he started blowing the horn :mad:
    A few of the locals went to him and had a chat with him :rolleyes: He was not from the area or even the province. He was lucky to get away with a telling off. Some people have little or no respect.

biddy2013 wrote: »
    oh has had a few close escape with very narrow lanes and small yards, he said if he had a euro for everytime he heard "sure the milkman gets in no bother" never a mention of hump back bridges etc, now he looks on google maps before he sets out saves alot of hassle
    OH has the same problem. Some farmers think his outfit is like a dinky car that can be turned on a twopence :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Base price wrote: »
    OH has the same problem. Some farmers think his outfit is like a dinky car that can be turned on a twopence :(

must be some car, a dinky one:D what make is that skoda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

We need truck drivers like this one.

http://youtu.be/i1-ALNFPMHU

hugo29 wrote: »
    must be some car, a dinky one:D what make is that skoda
    Ha, ha not exactly that small. A Daf and drag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Ha, ha not exactly that small. A Daf and drag.
    oh got a new toy the other day must put up a pic, another 143

Iam going for to do my C theory test in the morning. I have been putting it off for years but tomorrow is D day :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Any one have experience with a 07 zetor 9641 with loader?

I have one... no complaints, had to put in a clutch at 1700 hrs, brass clutch in it now,
    Doesn't do any heavy work though, nice tractor to drive.
    I always had zetors, good farmers tractor I always thought, but not a contractors machine.
    All the previous tractors used to cut silage, spread slurry, agitate, etc no problem.....all crystals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

IFA: progress on Nitrates. Increased N & P limits & improved soiled water definition. Calendar farming still an issue.

Rancher I got this text today. Do you have any further info?

rancher wrote: »
    I have one... no complaints, had to put in a clutch at 1700 hrs, brass clutch in it now,
    Doesn't do any heavy work though, nice tractor to drive.
    I always had zetors, good farmers tractor I always thought, but not a contractors machine.
    All the previous tractors used to cut silage, spread slurry, agitate, etc no problem.....all crystals
    Looked at two today. Our case is shagged. Not able to drive on the road at all.
    Want to have a look at a cs 110 I found too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

delaval wrote: »
    IFA: progress on Nitrates. Increased N & P limits & improved soiled water definition. Calendar farming still an issue.

Rancher I got this text today. Do you have any further info?

Supposed to be a detailed report in tomorrows IFJ.
    i

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

rancher wrote: »
    Supposed to be a detailed report in tomorrows IFJ.
    i

What about greening- weighting-conversion. EFA's in plain english?

td5man wrote: »
    What about greening- weighting-conversion. EFA's in plain english?

I've 13ac of wood hope that will do for my greening

Early Urea seems to have worked well here

Them young lads of yours have a serious case of metal disease.
    You may kerb it soon or they will want you to go all HO next :D
    Its a slippery slope :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Nice bit of red heather in that sward.

Them young lads of yours have a serious case of metal disease.
    You may kerb it soon or they will want you to go all HO next :D
    Its a slippery slope :D

More gear here than Kelly's of Borris!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭mayota

The page lay out has changed for boards. Can I change back to the old way, this is a PITA ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

My dad told me a story of a farmer that had either the loader to high/ or the load to high going under one of them old train bridges, he hit the bridge causing damage to track, the next train came and people where killed.
    He said the farmer never forgave himself for what had happened. And was never the same after it

Happened in Longford l think where a truck hit a railway bridge. Driver rang it in. Engineer came out and said everything ok. Had gone to wrong bridge. Train came and crashed. Luckily only freight train. Driver was ok. Now every bridge has a plaque with it's own unique number and you quote that number if you crash into it.

biddy2013 wrote: »
    oh got a new toy the other day must put up a pic, another 143

Excellent :D

Iam going for to do my C theory test in the morning. I have been putting it off for years but tomorrow is D day :confused:

Best of luck with it, won't be a bother to ya I bet

We need truck drivers like this one.

http://youtu.be/i1-ALNFPMHU

It's amazing how tight ya can turn with a drag trailer

mayota wrote: »
    The page lay out has changed for boards. Can I change back to the old way, this is a PITA ?

Just click full site at bottom of your page

What are them yokes like on diesel :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Happened in Longford l think where a truck hit a railway bridge. Driver rang it in. Engineer came out and said everything ok. Had gone to wrong bridge. Train came and crashed. Luckily only freight train. Driver was ok. Now every bridge has a plaque with it's own unique number and you quote that number if you crash into it.

I think there is automatic penalty points if ya hit a bridge too so some lads might not report it because of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭mayota

Reggie. wrote: »
    Just click full site at bottom of your page

Cheers Reggie.

It's amazing how tight ya can turn with a drag trailer
    Thanks Reggie, fingers crossed I will have a good result tomorrow.
    Drag trailers are absolute feckers in my opinion due to the double pivot points, however that is in my limited experience (around the yards).
    OH can do some pretty nice manovers in tight areas but I would consider them to be ten or more point turns :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Dipped the toe in pedigree Limousines today. Make a change from the Charolais.
    Had some picked out at a dispersal sale and one happened to be PB Reg, we'll see how she goes!

Best of luck with her. BTW is she halter trained?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Best of luck with her. You bought her to use as a commercial or plan to breed pedigrees?

Thanks Reggie, fingers crossed I will have a good result tomorrow.
    Drag trailers are absolute feckers in my opinion due to the double pivot points, however that is in my limited experience (around the yards).
    OH can do some pretty nice manovers in tight areas but I would consider them to be ten or more point turns :rolleyes:
    nightmare to reverse but you can turn that tight that the trailer is right along side the cab and even tho you would think that it would hit the side of the truck as you pull away but somehow it finds its way behind ya again :cool:

Best of luck with her. BTW is she halter trained?

I dunno. We didn't try one on her :-)

Fine quiet cow though, easily handled. She's gone into a pen with a few of our own cows, she fits right in.

just do it wrote: »
    Best of luck with her. You bought her to use as a commercial or plan to breed pedigrees?

We didn't know she was a PB when we looked at her, but liked her. She's carrying to a Lim, son of Rocky.
    I suppose if she's lucky, we'll stick a decent AI Lim on her and maybe get a decent bull or heifer off her.

nightmare to reverse but you can turn that tight that the trailer is right along side the cab and even tho you would think that it would hit the side of the truck as you pull away but somehow it finds its way behind ya again :cool:
    OH can do that, as in put the trailer alongside the body. It is a bit freaky when you are sitting in the passenger seat to see the trailer coming up alongside you :eek:
    He normally only does it when there are old/lame/or JE or JEx culls on board and they might trip going over the ramp between the lorry and the trailer.
    No problem with younger stock or calves (coming off the deck)

OH can do that, as in put the trailer alongside the body. It is a bit freaky when you are sitting in the passenger seat to see the trailer coming up alongside you :eek:
    He normally only does it when there are old/lame/or JE or JEx culls on board and they might trip going over the ramp between the lorry and the trailer.
    No problem with younger stock or calves (coming off the deck)
    ya cant beat a good pilot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Genghis, congrats, is she registered?. Have a rocky son as the stock bull here. He throws shapely calves and is generally easy calved.

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/twin-calves-with-the-same-dam-but-different-sires-154194/
    How would this happen. Me self and the girlfriend arguing over it here ha

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Genghis, congrats, is she registered?. Have a rocky son as the stock bull here. He throws shapely calves and is generally easy calved.

Thanks. She is registered, Cert came with her. She's by Louxor, 06 cow, carrying her 6th calf. She's a big long thick cow, very quiet. I'll be interested to see how she goes on, I wouldn't mind trying a decent straw on her next if she goes ahead well.

ya cant beat a good pilot
    Woohoo ;)

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/twin-calves-with-the-same-dam-but-different-sires-154194/

If she doesn't believe ya, give her a demo;)

two bulls maybe in the same field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,387 ✭✭✭naughto

1623638_824920860868172_1636172192_n.jpg

naughto wrote: »
    1623638_824920860868172_1636172192_n.jpg
    the ear must be bent of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,387 ✭✭✭naughto

last one
    1464632_614522195275527_1676644792_n.jpg

Simple - the strongest swimmers will win irrespective as to who the doners are. Simple biology.

Why wouldn't it happen. Cow ovulates, multiple eggs, a soup of sperm arrives, the two first across the line happen to be from two different bulls or two different straws or even one of those cocktail straws that can be got!
    It's not just confined to cows, heard of it happening with dogs too. Maybe even humans, who knows!