Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this generation too self-entitled?

• 06-04-2016 03:50PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

Has anyone else wondered this?

My example is I advertised a job on Facebook (my first mistake) in one of those buy and sell because it's easy enough to get responses. I put down a decent ad (requesting people to e-mail me or mail me if interested) - salary, amount of hours per week, location, job title, job description, seems grand enough to me anyways!

Que the responses - "hi i'm interested can u pm me pls" galore(my settings are so that everyone can message me). Naturally this prompted a bit of discussion between me and a friend - why in God's name would you ask someone who's advertised a job to contact you rather than just contact them/send through your CV? Bare in mind these same individuals are the same "there's no jobs" whingers that'll crib and moan yet won't actually chase after a job.

I did manage to find a "have u more details" message in my inbox which shocked me, usually if I see a job title, salary, location, hours, permanent/contract, I'm happy enough with that, what more details could have been given, maybe that the sky was blue when I wrote that advertisement? Who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Can I have the job? PM me for more details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

My example is I advertised a job on Facebook (my first mistake) in one of those buy and sell because it's easy enough to get responses. I put down a decent ad (requesting people to e-mail me or mail me if interested) - salary, amount of hours per week, location, job title, job description, seems grand enough to me anyways!

Que the responses - "hi i'm interested can u pm me pls" galore(my settings are so that everyone can message me). Naturally this prompted a bit of discussion between me and a friend - why in God's name would you ask someone who's advertised a job to contact you rather than just contact them/send through your CV? Bare in mind these same individuals are the same "there's no jobs" whingers that'll crib and moan yet won't actually chase after a job.

I did manage to find a "have u more details" message in my inbox which shocked me, usually if I see a job title, salary, location, hours, permanent/contract, I'm happy enough with that, what more details could have been given, maybe that the sky was blue when I wrote that advertisement? Who knows.

Swap for my ads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

I was actually hoping those would be the first comments.

You kept my dreams alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭timmy880

Had 2 open roles in my company for grads. We were offering decent pay... (5 years ago when I applied for a grad job in Dublin they didn't even discuss salary with me and I accepted the job anyway...)

But back to the grad roles we advertised. We had at least 10 people in for interviews (including one fella who spoke about his own company that he had set up that didn't even have a website and was just a couple of YouTube videos), all early 20's with no experience and some still finishing their college degree and most of them either demanded too much money or never got back to us! I was stunned.

It was a real eye opener. Same folks probably moving to Oz because they say there are a no jobs here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Alienigenis

I personally think it's just because of the wording of the ads. They usually just say "message me for details". Also, if you're using things like Ballymun Freebies you get (and I don't like saying this) desperate people or, dare I say, chavs.
    Did you try writing "PM if interested with a link to your CV". People with some initiative will likely already have their CV uploaded to sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

facebook properly not the best place,
    the audience have a short attention span and are more sporadic with following up on things, messages tend to be short and snappy.

they might have just read job, apply here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

facebook properly not the best place,
    the audience have a short attention span and are more sporadic with following up on things, messages tend to be short and snappy.

they might have just read job, apply here.

That may be alot of the problem here. Most likely, as soon as they applied for the job, they forgot about it and went to Boards.ie.
    Wait, what did I just apply for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Look, people are stupid, they always have been. You see it on LinkedIn too - a recruiter will stick up details of the job including how to apply and a load of morons will respond with basic questions covered in the ad, or "Please PM me".

Before social media, you'd give people an address to send their CV to and some idiot would ring and leave a voicemail asking for a call back.

Before phones, Paddy would hear from Joe that Billy needs some work doing and Paddy would say to Joe, "Tell Billy to give me a shout".

Some people just don't get it. It's an easy sh1t filter - if someone's response to a job ad is "please contact me", you know they're not worth hiring.

I've actually requested people to e-mail me their CV if interested - obviously get's blatantly ignored. I also had someone funnily enough criticize the salary, they had a job already (apparently) and she was just wanting to utilize her right to free speech.. Stupid is as stupid does!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

I think you are right though. I was talking to a mechanic last week where he said it's really difficult to get apprentice mechanics these days. The main reason is, they don't want to do the sh1tty jobs like washing cars and they just want to get stuck into rebuilding engines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

Op from personal experience youre at nothing trying to hire grads. They want too much money and even if you do hire them you're just a stepping stone to their next better paid job. Remember these are the Celtic tiger cubs with a silver spoon firmly stuck where the sun doesn't shine. Hire more mature people less demanding and less attrition.

The funny thing is I'm essentially a Celtic tiger cub, I'm just not self entitled and enjoy working hard for what I want, I'm only gone 23 and the attitude of others my same age is ridiculous, I've recently set up my own company and I'm looking at these individuals just basically in shock at the self entitlement.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,481 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

People actually do this? I'm looking for work atm and... this'd never even occur to me. If I found a spelling error on my CV I'd be mortified.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

I've actually requested people to e-mail me their CV if interested - obviously get's blatantly ignored. I also had someone funnily enough criticize the salary, they had a job already (apparently) and she was just wanting to utilize her right to free speech.. Stupid is as stupid does!

Hah, they have some nerve to complain when every job seeker I know would be happy to even have minimum wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

seamus wrote: »
    Look, people are stupid, they always have been. You see it on LinkedIn too - a recruiter will stick up details of the job including how to apply and a load of morons will respond with basic questions covered in the ad, or "Please PM me".
    True enough on your entire post but I think it's blatantly increasing more with the presence of every gobsh*te known to man being on the internet.

OP, I wouldn't say this generation are more entitled but growing up with the internet but not with the social media craze, I can definitely see that the internet is making the morons come forward. You'll still get genuine applications but don't expect more than 50% of them to be more than "boss, gis a job dere".

People actually do this? I'm looking for work atm and... this'd never even occur to me. If I found a spelling error on my CV I'd be mortified.

If you're looking for work I'd be more than happy to help out, I like helping people out - providing they don't take the mick and act like tossers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Sorry to cross-quote from another thread, but your post in the Dumb Facebook Statuses thread gave me a good giggle at the thought she could be one of your applicants :D

I had to re-read a girls status due to her using "anal" as a substitute of "and all". Throughout the entire thing I thought it was a tad bit odd for her to keep mentioning butt sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,804 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

If they can't follow a simple instruction then they aren't fit for the job. They are self screening themselves out of contention for the job.

Believe it or not but I've actually received CV's in text speak from people applying for jobs. And I've had people say to me that they are desperate for a job but if I suggest an entry level job - oh no, they won't do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

maudgonner wrote: »
    Sorry to cross-quote from another thread, but your post in the Dumb Facebook Statuses thread gave me a good giggle at the thought she could be one of your applicants :D
    Brilliant!
    Rob: So what do you bring to the company?
    Girl: im gud wit d computer nd i no a bit about microsoft,
    Rob: So you'd able to use MS word, excel, etc?
    Girl: yea im great with the different stuff like office anal

Tombi! wrote: »
    Brilliant!
    Rob: So what do you bring to the company?
    Girl: im gud wit d computer nd i no a bit about microsoft,
    Rob: So you'd able to use MS word, excel, etc?
    Girl: yea im great with the different stuff like office anal

Office anal?

Yes you're hired. Start immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,804 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Office anal?

Hang on. You don't know if they are giving or taking. Kids these days have strapons and other such devices. :pac:

Office anal?

This legitimately reminds me of the Jacksfilms comment videos on YouTube :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Give me the jarb!

PM my secretary with the details

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Hang on. You don't know if they are giving or taking. Kids these days have strapons and other such devices. :pac:

I'll be giving her the job whilst she'll be taking some old fashioned reliable office anal.

Certified office anal of course, we only want professionals!

I'll be giving her the job whilst she'll be taking some old fashioned reliable office anal.

Certified office anal of course, we only want professionals!

I too would like to sign up for this certified office anal, but I'm afraid I have no such experience. :pac:

The company will pay for training, providing you pay for.. materials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭NicoleW85

I've just landed myself a full time job in a hotel earning minimum wage, after 9 months of applying for jobs and having no interviews til last week. Absolutely over the moon. I think it's down to how you were brought up. I appreciate everything I have and the people in my life.

The company will pay for training, providing you pay for.. materials.

Ohoho! I do believe I have such materials out back... So to speak.

NicoleW85 wrote: »
    I've just landed myself a full time job in a hotel earning minimum wage, after 9 months of applying for jobs and having no interviews til last week. Absolutely over the moon. I think it's down to how you were brought up. I appreciate everything I have and the people in my life.

I swear, I have nothing but respect for people who work in hotels. You lads/lasses have to deal with some horrid people/messes.

I did a fecal level 5 in office anal, so I'm a bit over qualified but put a high value on work-life balance, so I think we could make me fit right in to the position

Excellent usage of innurrearendo's. HIRED!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Pretty much. The young generation expect things to be handed to them. Not all - there are plenty of young people willing to make sacrifices but many others are self-entitled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭NicoleW85

I swear, I have nothing but respect for people who work in hotels. You lads/lasses have to deal with some horrid people/messes.

I'm 30 and had my own business for 2 years so getting straight into a Receptionist job is like a dream come true for me. It's something I've wanted to do for a long time but lack of experience held me back. I just got lucky with a fantastic team who looked past the words on paper and listened to what I had to say. :) thanks so much though, you do see and hear all sorts - many times by people who are seriously self entitled haha

Nicole my best friend's girlfriend works in a hotel and good Christ the stories she's told me! Great to see someone looked past the CV and listened to the person in front of them, sometimes companies won't budge on policies like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

I did manage to find a "have u more details" message in my inbox which shocked me, usually if I see a job title, salary, location, hours, permanent/contract, I'm happy enough with that, what more details could have been given

I'm thinking perhaps job description, person specification etc?

Nicole my best friend's girlfriend works in a hotel and good Christ the stories she's told me! Great to see someone looked past the CV and listened to the person in front of them, sometimes companies won't budge on policies like that!

It's arses who stick with the CV that are the reason so many school-leavers and graduates can't get jobs..
    But I'm still standing~! (And searching like feck for someone that'll hire me :D)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Sounds like an issue with stupidity rather than entitlement.

Stupidity has always been around.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

No, this is not new. Another thing that's not new is thinking the generation after you is too self entitled.

Sounds like an issue with stupidity rather than entitlement.

Stupidity has always been around.

You know what's not stupid? Your name and pic. Portal is feckin' amazing.

if only we could get paid to post on boards, then I cold afford to drink more of this delicious thirst-quenching Diet Coke™*

terms and conditions apply, this may have been a sponsored post. Consult your doctor before drinking coke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

So is the issue here that they asked you to message them, or is the issue that they have poor English, no punctuation poor spelling and text speak.

What was the role? Was a degree needed?

Surely if you have a degree you are able to construct a sentence in English?

Wesser wrote: »
    So is the issue here that they asked you to message them, or is the issue that they have poor English, no punctuation poor spelling and text speak.

What was the role? Was a degree needed?

Surely if you have a degree you are able to construct a sentence in English?

That right there is the reason I call Facebook "The Land of A Billion Idiots"
    Behold! An example!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I taught in UCD for a bit and there are some self entitled young adults out there. Not all of them but I think the self entitlement stems from mollycoddled and we can't blame this generation 100%.

Over the years the students tended towards complaining when something was hard and expected to be spoon-fed. The courses on offer are being dumbed down continuously as a result. The parents today seem to have a fascination with paying for all of their child's rent, all of their expenses and everything else. Whatever happened to the days of getting a job? It teaches them no self sufficiency and ironically it's these students who seem to complain the most about other people getting free money, student grants and the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

I think trying to correlate poor grammar while applying for jobs and self entitledness are two completely different things.

Of course good grammar may give a good impression. It doesn't necessarily indicate that the person is self entitled or lacks skills and work ethic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

This reminds me of one time when I was working in my uncle's shop sometime in the mid-00's. They had advertised for a new position, with a description of the job and something along the lines of "Please apply in writing...". Fair enough we got plenty of CVs posted to us, some good, some bad.

However there was one application that really stuck out. Some chap literally applied in writing. Just a piece of paper with a few sentances written on it stating that they were interested in the job, no CV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

People, and young people in particular, have lost respect for tradition. That can be good when it means old assumptions are questioned. On the other hand, an employer wants to know that a new employee will make an effort to fit into the company and not expect the organisation to adapt to how a 20-year-old thinks the world should work.

Having said that, I do think younger people have been given a bum deal over the past eight years. Government, unions, employers have collectively pulled up the drawbridge to keep what they have.

Whatever about this generation being self entitled, it's the generation ahead of this one, who now feel they are entitled to current generation working for them, in unpaid positions. These are the ones who are really full of it.

Thinking that by offering someone the opportunity to give their time for free, they are doing them a favour.

I just laugh when people tell me they can help me get a job (skilled positions) because 9 times out of 10 if anything comes from it, it's an unpaid position. Yeah I bet that'll look great on my CV -- worked 6 months at X before I starved to death. A great college lecturer who has got me (some) work in the past mentioned to me that they would ask around for me but most places are looking for people doing a masters. A masters!!! to work in a junior role!

Then telling me I should really consider going on from level7 to do a level 8 and beyond. I can't afford to still be 'unemployed' for any longer and as far as I can see a level 8 won't be the magic ticket to gainful employment.

If I had known college would lead me to this point I never would have started, I could have given someone several grand* in cash in a brown envelope and got into a position where I was trained up, 3 years ago, so now I'd be on a liveable wage. (*whatever the college registration fees up to this point have been.)

and I mean these free positions as in zero wage. there's a certain industry in Ireland where this applies, so it's not a slight at anyone in particular or minimum wage or anything. These people offer zero monies. Ridiculous.

It's funny, I'm well-educated, personable, make sure I keep spelling and grammar correct, always suit up for an interview yet sending out over a hundred CVs for jobs and internships I only ever got 2 interviews which didn't lead to offers. It took a college work placement and a lot of luck with others finding other places for me just to get a placement let alone a job. Obviously been looking in the wrong places. Or I'm too entitled.

Whatever about this generation being self entitled, it's the generation ahead of this one, who now feel they are entitled to current generation working for them, in unpaid positions. These are the ones who are really full of it.

Thinking that by offering someone the opportunity to give their time for free, they are doing them a favour.

I just laugh when people tell me they can help me get a job (skilled positions) because 9 times out of 10 if anything comes from it, it's an unpaid position. Yeah I bet that'll look great on my CV -- worked 6 months at X before I starved to death. A great college lecturer who has got me (some) work in the past mentioned to me that they would ask around for me but most places are looking for people doing a masters. A masters!!! to work in a junior role!

Then telling me I should really consider going on from level7 to do a level 8 and beyond. I can't afford to still be 'unemployed' for any longer and as far as I can see a level 8 won't be the magic ticket to gainful employment.

If I had known college would lead me to this point I never would have started, I could have given someone several grand* in cash in a brown envelope and got into a position where I was trained up, 3 years ago, so now I'd be on a liveable wage. (*whatever the college registration fees up to this point have been.)

and I mean these free positions as in zero wage. there's a certain industry in Ireland where this applies, so it's not a slight at anyone in particular or minimum wage or anything. These people offer zero monies. Ridiculous.

The generation who saw no increase in unemployment and a net gain in income through the recession along with record low interest rates on their mortgages? Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,922 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

screamer wrote:
    Op from personal experience youre at nothing trying to hire grads. They want too much money and even if you do hire them you're just a stepping stone to their next better paid job. Remember these are the Celtic tiger cubs with a silver spoon firmly stuck where the sun doesn't shine. Hire more mature people less demanding and less attrition.

I'm one of those celtic tiger cubs and I can't agree with this post.

I was born mid 80s, went to school abd worked on building sites during the summers. After school i watched my friends get jobs and have money so they could buy things and go places and settle down to start their lives. I decided to go to uni so I worked a sh1tty part-time job and never had 2 bob to rub together.

I graduated in 2007. Continued to work crap jobs whilst applying for jobs related to my career. Still never had a bob. Then the recession proper happened so it was good to have any job, still never had a bob. Parent died so got some money to go back to uni to do a masters. Now I am early 30s, qualified and have a job. I'll be fcuked if I'll have some fusty old codger, tell me about my silver spoon 'where the sun doesn't shine' or suggest that I shouldn't negotiate for my salary.

It strikes me that people who were of working age from the mid - late 90s don't have a clue how easy they had it. Walk into a job and have solid work for 15 years. Then complain about celtic tiger cubs... Seriously?